Hour 4 Mini Challenge: Quotable Quotes

Dewey's Readathon Banner

Welcome to the fourth hour of the 24 hour readathon! Are you all having fun? This challenge is about just taking a minute to really appreciate what you’re reading — it can be really easy to get caught up in just getting as much read as possible, but there’s got to be stuff you want to remember. So to participate in this hour, here’s the rules:

  1. Comment with a quotation from one of today’s reads.
  2. Include your email address to make sure I can get in contact with you.
  3. I will randomly select one of the people who comments.

And… that’s it! Your prize will be a book of your choice up to £10 in value from the Book Depository, depending only on being in a country that TBD ship to!

206 thoughts on “Hour 4 Mini Challenge: Quotable Quotes

  1. “She wrote the number 4. Is there a fourth suspect? Is there someone else who knew about the party, knew Meg and Tony and had a good reason to stop the party?

    “She couldn’t think of anyone. So she wrote down Dwayne.

    “Why?

    ” ‘Because I don’t like him.’ ”

    ~R.L. Stine, The Surprise Party

    (This made me laugh. katenab (at) gmail.com )

  2. “The boy, to his dismay, realised no breath left his lips or heart pumped in his chest. He looked at his thin pale arms and the veins had turned black. For now they held the secrets of the dead. All that was left to do for the boy was to scream and scream and scream.”
    – from The Boy in the Cemetery by Sebastian Gregory

    Thanks for the fun challenge.

  3. “With a great crack, the ice gives way below them, and a mouth ringed with a thousand teeth silently opens.” -City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett

    athreadoffiction at gmail dot com

  4. I got choked up at this line, so I have to pick it – I’m blanking out part though, since it’s close to the end and kinda spoilery.

    “Dimwit Essie _____ Essie,” he said. “Essie mother proud.”
    And then the twitchy malfunction who’d never botched anything he didn’t mean to dipped himself into an unmistakeable bow.
    – Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis

    Guess that doesn’t make a whole lot of sense out of context, but I swear, it’s great. Thanks for the challenge!

    ksjmkm1 at gmail dot com

  5. “I guess trusting someone to protect themselves takes a kind of strength too.” -Seishiro Tsugumi, Nisekoi vol. 3 by Naoshi Komi

    I love reading for good quotes! This was fun!

    (My e-mail is aoi (dot) sakura116 (at) gmail (dot) com.)

  6. “Funny things, aren’t they? People. The only believed in what they could see. Appearances were all that mattered, and no one would ever care what she was like on the inside. No one cared that she was breaking apart.”
    – Falling into place by Amy Zhang

    battyaboutbats at gmail.com

    Thank you!

  7. From You by Carolyn Kepnes, a twisted, scary story narrated by a stalker:

    6:08 and the next dude in line is buying the new King and The Shining just to be bold — he calls The Shining a prequel and I want to cut his face — and what an awful world it is out there, Beck. What a miracle that you came in here, so happy, when most of the people who come in are so miserable, everyone except for you and me and Curtis, who holds the door for Mr. Shining and starts with his bull$hit.

  8. “By starting the story, the story tells you; tells you how to go on and how to look back”
    -Marilyn Dumont (epigraph to Soraya Peerbaye’s Poems for the Advisory Committee on Antarctic Names)

    buriedinprint AT gmail DOT com

  9. My quote comes from the awesome book The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes:

    “You’re eyes are so pretty.”
    “I know right? They’re my second best feature.”
    “What’s your best?”
    He glances quickly down at his lap and then arches his eyebrows suggestively at me.
    “Prove it.”

    😉

    michellelaumb[at]yahoo[dot]com

  10. “I have always believed that anyone who must violate the law to achieve his purposes must lack either intelligence or imagination, probably both.”
    ― Miss Wonderful by Loretta Chase

    Mrs.Soule at gmail.com

  11. From Not Fade Away by Rebecca Alexander:

    “People tend to get so stuck in the unhappiness of their lives because at least it’s familiar, and they find comfort in the discomfort because at least it’s predictable and what they know. Breaking that cycle requires you to face your fears, to explore the unknown and to let yourself be afraid and vulnerable.”

    erinreadsblog [at] gmail [dot] com…thanks! 🙂

  12. “Neel takes a sharp breath and I know exactly what it means. It means: I have waited my whole life to walk through a secret passage built into a bookshelf.” From Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Book Store 😀

  13. “Sitting in her office at the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency, Mma Ramotswe reflected on how easy it was to find oneself committed to a course of action simply because one lacked the courage to say no.”

    Tears of the Giraffe, Alexander McCall Smith

    I hear you, Mma Ramotswe.

    I’m at faintlymacabre12 [at] gmail [dot] com 🙂

  14. Destroy Me By Tahereh Mafi

    These letters are all I have left.
    26 friends to tell my stories to.
    26 letters are all I need. I can stitch them together to create oceans and ecosystems. I can fit
    them together to form planets and solar systems. I can use letters to construct skyscrapers and
    metropolitan cities populated by people, places, things, and ideas that are more real to me than
    these 4 walls.
    I need nothing but letters to live. Without them I would not exist.
    Because these words I write down are the only proof I have that I’m still alive.

  15. From Children of the Mind, Orson Scott Card –

    “Just because we might all die here on this little world does not undo the lives before the deaths”.

    Thanks for hosting, love the idea of focusing on things you want to remember, not just reading as much as possible! (faith (at) geekyzoogirl (dot) com)

  16. I suck at quotes, but this from the introduction is amazing!
    “Stories are the most important thing in the world. Without stories, we wouldn’t be human being at all.” -Philip Pullman

  17. An Abundance of Katherines by John Green: “Ergo: girls should always make the first move, because (a) they are, on the whole, less likely to be rejected than guys, and (b) that way, girls will never get kissed unless they want to be kissed.”

  18. “We’ve all got both light and dark inside us. What matters is the part we choose to act on. That’s who we really are.” Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

    katherinerovensky (at) gmail (dot) com

  19. “Even I, Albus Dumbledore, would find it easiest to refuse the Invisibility Cloak; which only goes to show that, clever as I am, I remain just as big a fool as anyone else.”
    -The Tales of Beedle the Bard

  20. “She seems to disappear into the pages-as if everything around her dissolves and she is transported into whatever world inhabits the pages of that book.” -West of the Moon by Margi Preus

  21. “‘The argument goes something like this: ‘I refuse to prove that I exist,’ says God, ‘for proof denies faith, and without faith I am nothing.'” –The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

  22. ” ‘Oh and one more thing,’ Damon’s voice came back. ‘You asked earlier about my brother. Don’t bother looking for him, Elena. I killed him last night.’ ”

    The Strugge, Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith

    This made me make verbal squeals and cause my family to ask if I was ok. I love how Damon toils with Elena. Best part of the whole book.

  23. “In the Glade, Chuck had become a symbol for him- a beacon that somehow they could make everything right again in the world. Sleep in beds. Get kissed goodnight. Have beacon and eggs for breakfast, go to a real school. Be Happy.” -The Maze Runner By: James Dashner

  24. “Ichabod prided himself upon his dancing as much as upon his vocal powers. Not a limb, not a fibre about him was idle; and to have seen his loosely hung frame in full motion, and clattering about the room, you would have thought St. Vitus himself, that blessed patron of the dance, was figuring before you in person.” – The Legend of Sleepy Hollow

    madhoydenish [at] gmail [dot] com

  25. “And sometimes, and only in spring,
    a dove from the river’s soft vale of lilies
    will fly as close to you as trust,
    and a calm in the great reds of autumn
    will, as often as you need, lie down
    beside you, raising a brow you’ve known
    above the eyes of the only woman
    you will ever have a need to dream or touch.”

    from James Ragan’s “Sometimes”

  26. […] Quotable Quotes From my favorite poem in the Ragan collection: And sometimes, and only in spring, a dove from the river’s soft vale of lilies will fly as close to you as trust, and a calm in the great reds of autumn will, as often as you need, lie down beside you, raising a brow you’ve known above the eyes of the only woman you will ever have a need to dream or touch. […]

  27. “She’s about to speak but stops at the sound of rushing air. The fake Chloe’s mouth emits a rumbling sound and orange sparks begin to shoot out.” Angel Killer by Andrew Mayne

    kherbrand@ comcast dot net

  28. (I’m not very far in my book, so this one was kind of difficult)

    “What’s Halloween?” I asked.
    “Halloween?” Clearly, he’d never heard of it. I wasn’t surprised. I’d only seen the word once myself in an old history book my parents had.

    I picked this one because I thought it was kind of funny, that it’s almost Halloween.

    Ashyy.rawrr@gmail.com is my email.

  29. “Still shaking, in the pew, I understood that it isn’t the dead we cry for. We cry for ourselves, and I didn’t deserve my own pity.”
    – Little Bee by Chris Cleave

  30. I’m a bit late with the quote but…

    “Your old mother who never did anything but work and get whipped every day you’ve been alive. Dreaming her dreams. You tell me where she was. Where those dreams had made her go. It’s cold like that and it’s dark like the devil’s teeth and you are awake because you just heard the warning bell. Deathh is coming down the road to knock on your door and you don’t know what to do.”

  31. “I could hear my heart beating. I could hear everyone’s heart. I could hear the human noise we sat there making, not one of us, moving, not even when the room went dark.”
    What We Talk About When We Talk About Love by Raymond Carver.

    Favorite quote out of all the short stories in this collection.

    bookworm39647 (at) hotmail (dot) com

  32. All that has happened before matters no more. Your math is only yours to take. The choice yours to make.
    John Dreamer by Elise Celine

    lisbethd129(at)ymail(dot)com

  33. “Susan awoke in the dark of Christmas morning. A weight lay on her feet, and she moved her toes up and down. She sat up and rubbed her eyes. It was Christmas Day.”

    For all those who remember being a child. Email ed(dot)pendragon (at)yahoo(dot)co(dot)uk

Leave a Reply

